Your Gateway To Paradise In New Hampshire 
 

Please notify me of specials from chamber partners

Please Visit Our Sponsors

Effingham

Nestled conveniently between Ossipee Lake and Loon Lake, the town of Effingham is home to roughly 1,400 people (per 2015 town census). Incorporated in 1778 under the name “Leavittstown”, a tribute to the town’s founder, Captain John Leavitt, Effingham is rich in historical relevance, as well as quintessential New England Charm. The idyllic blend of history, nature, and small town serenity distinguish Effingham, and the welcoming community it’s home too.

The town itself is home to a vibrant historical Network, and intellectual stimulation resides at every corner. The Effingham Preservation Society remains dedicated to its mission of preserving area landmarks, ensuring that history is secured for future generations. One such building is the “Normal School” building, which was built in 1830. A “Normal School” is an educational institution designed to train teachers and set educational standards, and Effingham is home to the very first “Normal School” in New Hampshire. The building itself is now a historic landmark, among many other historical points of interest. These rustic houses are a step back in time, alluding to the historical relevance of the town.

Effingham is a quiet town. You won’t find crowded interstates or an unsettling “concrete-to-pine tree ratio” here, just rustic charm and unspoiled natural beauty. Pine River State Forest is a public outdoor recreational area, with many trails to explore, connecting you to a one of a kind ecosystem. Come with a sense of adventure, and leave relaxed, and with significantly less memory space on your camera.

For more information, visit www.effinghamnh.net

IMPORTANT NUMBERS

Police Department
Fire Department
Town Clerk
Recycling Center
Selectmen
Elementary School
High School
Library
Zoning Officer
Transfer Station
Post Office
Website

 

Effingham Board of Selectmen
Claudia Lamphier, Administrative Assistant
68 School Street
Effingham NH 03882

Effingham

The Town of Effingham is located south of Leavitt Bay and the Ossipee River areas of Ossipee Lake. It is bounded on the north by Freedom (separated by the Ossipee River), south by Wakefield and Ossipee, east by Parsonsfield, Maine, and west by Ossipee, and has an estimated population of 1,566.

The Effingham and Freedom townships were formerly united. In 1749 Effingham was granted as Leavittstown and in 1778 was incorporated under its present name. The section north of the Ossipee River was incorporated as North Effingham in 1831 and in 1832 assumed the name Freedom. Some of the most serious obstacles encountered by the first settlers were the construction of roads and bridges, and development of the beautiful but rocky terrain. A bounty was offered to entice people to settle in the area-however, some of the land was unsuitable for farming and those people were given extra land.

The power of the river at Effingham Falls was harnessed in 1820 and sawmills and gristmills were erected. Soon roads, stores, a church, school and tavern were built. By 1858 Effingham was more populated than it is now. In 1830 the first Normal School in New Hampshire, a college designed for the training of teachers, was established in the Effingham Union Academy building (built in 1819) by James W. Bradbury (later United States Senator from Maine). Other historic buildings in the Lord's Hill area are Squire Lord's Great House (featuring 19th century architecture throughout the house, carriage house and stable), Squire Lord's Tavern, and the Lord's Hill Meeting House (built in 1798) which features a Paul Revere bell crafted by J. W. Revere at the Canton, Massachusetts, factory in 1821. The Lord's Hill district and several of its buildings are on the National Historic Register. In Center Effingham, the Effingham Public Library building (formerly the New England Masonic Charitable Institute and later the Town Hall) was built in 1858. Upstairs, the Charter Oak Masonic Lodge #58 is well known in the area for its beautiful trompe l'oeil (fool-the-eye) paintings. Other historic buildings in this area are the Effingham Historical Society building (formerly Drake's Store), the Effingham Preservation building (formerly the Effingham Grange) and the Center Effingham Baptist Church.

The Town goes all out for the holidays with a craft fair, a concert and tree lighting event, and a Christmas Eve service. Attractions include Green Mountain, Province Lake and several nature/bird watching areas including the Charles and Mabel Watts (Audubon) Bird Sanctuary, Larry Leavitt Preserve, and Pine River State Forest. Many enjoy hiking to the fire tower at the top of Green Mountain via one of three trails. Don't forget to stop by Taylor City to meet the Mayor and the rest of his family at the quaint bend on Route 153 in South Effingham, where the past is well represented.

IMPORTANT NUMBERS

Police Department 
539-5380

Fire Department
539-7956

Town Clerk
539-7551

Recycling Center
539-7551

Selectmen
539-7770

E
lementary School
569-6032

High School
569-2055

Library
539-1537

Zoning Officer
539-7147

Transfer Station
539-2558

Post Office
539-7179

Website
www.effinghamnh.net

Effingham Board of Selectmen
Claudia Lamphier, Administrative Assistant
68 School Street
Effingham NH 03882

 

Loading...

Copyright©2017  All Rights Reserve